Boldly go…


[ My photo of the Space Shuttle Endeavour on its final flight – click to enlarge ]

Sometimes we ride to feel the wind in our hair. Sometimes we ride to get from here to there. But sometimes we ride to be a part of something bigger than ourselves. Today was one of those days. I took one of my “secret” commute routes to Silicon Valley and timed the ride to coincide with the Space Shuttle Endeavour’s final flyover of NASA’s Ames Research Center at Moffett Field. Although there are some spectacular photos and videos on the Internet of Endeavour and its Boeing 747 Shuttle Carrier Aircraft flying low over the Golden Gate Bridge, I opted to capture this last Shuttle flight as it flew by historic Hangar One, built originally for dirigibles. So I filled up my saddlebags with my photo gear, bungeed my tripod behind me, and set off to see what kind of photo I could get from a high vantage point about ten miles away as the crow flies:

Hwy 35 Skyline Drive Vista Point

As a youngster growing up first with Mercury, then with Gemini, and then with Apollo, I would consider myself a devotee of all things NASA. And considering I run a company that benefits from all of the technology that was developed for the space program, it is with much respect that I pen this ode to the final flight of the last Space Shuttle.

“Space, the final frontier. These were the voyages of the Space Shuttle Endeavour. Her 25 missions: to service the Hubble Space Telescope, conduct experiments, and deliver modules to the International Space Station — to boldly go where few have gone before.”

_____________________________________________________

For my photographer friends: I took the Space Shuttle shot with a Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS on my Canon Rebel Xsi from about ten miles away at ISO 100, f/4, 1/4000 shutter speed. Post processing was done in Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop.

One thought on “Boldly go…

  1. Thanks for sharing, very neat.

    While stationed at Robins AFB, March 1997, the Endeavour (piggybacked on the 747) detoured to Robins due to weather en route to the Cape. It was really awesome to see. The local Hwy 247 parallels the base, and the aircraft were parked about 500 yds from the fence line. The local sheriffs had to post on the hwy to keep traffic moving.
    I remember another time a shuttle came through Robins, between 2003 and 2005 I think? I got to watch the take off and climb out of their departure, pretty cool. A straight ahead departure, and climb rate was,,,,,lets say was not the most spectacular.

What do YOU think?

